An Introduction

Thank you for taking the time to glance over this blog.

The idea for this has been marinating in my mind for a long time and I did previously have a Springsteen blog that I wrote which covered my thoughts on each of his albums. As it turns out, I was much too young to really know what I was writing about and my opinions since then have changed and aged with me.

This blog will have reviews and opinion pieces but I mainly want it to be a discussion. Hopefully the reader (that’s you, so do me a favour and keep checking in on me) will comment and start a wider discussion about Bruce’s music.

That’s the introduction to the blog done, now for a quick introduction to me. As of writing this (late 2019) I am twenty five years old, though this is very likely to change with each passing year. I live on the south-western coast of England and although my age and location may not be instantly linked to Springsteen’s music, it is worth noting that I work in an old-school factory as a machine operator. (I also get to play around with chemicals but I won’t get into that.)

My main reason for doing this blog was that I’ve thought about Springsteen’s lyrics and his recurring themes very deeply for the thirteen or so years that I’ve been a fan. Since I was a young boy I’ve always paid very close attention to the lyrics of any song I’m listening to and, having spent most of my formal education studying poetry, I love deconstructing them and looking below and beyond the surface. This certainly doesn’t make me stand out in the Springsteen community but I also love writing and so am driven to do this.

So, again, thank you for taking the time to come onto my blog and I hope you’ll stick around for what I’ll be writing in the future. I have a lot of ideas and am desperate to put my thoughts out there and have them bounce around the brains of every other Springsteen fan who stumbles my way.

“Talk about a dream, try to make it real”

Leave a comment